New Hampshire Aggravated DWI
There are several factors that may cause a New Hampshire driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense to be upgraded to an aggravated DWI charge. An aggravated DWI not only includes a longer license suspension period—it also carries mandatory jail time. If you have recently been arrested for a New Hampshire aggravated DWI, you should immediately contact a trained DWI lawyer to begin preparing your defense in an effort to avoid life-altering penalties.
The factors that may result in an aggravated DWI charge include: possessing a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .16% or higher, driving more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit while intoxicated, attempting to elude a police officer, transporting a passenger under the age of 16, and causing an accident resulting in serious personal injury. In fact, if you are involved in an accident that causes injuries, you could be charged with a felony offense, punishable by a minimum of 14 days in jail and a maximum of seven years in prison.
An aggravated DWI conviction can result in a mandatory jail sentence and a one-year driver’s license suspension. You will also be required to complete a seven-day inpatient Multiple Offender Program (MOP), which can cost between $1,000 and $2,000 and must be paid for out of pocket.
After your license suspension is complete, you may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in all of your vehicles for at least one year. This device works as a miniature breathalyzer, and you must blow into it before the vehicle will start. If your BAC is higher than a certain limit, you cannot operate the vehicle and the court will be informed of this violation. You are responsible for the expenses associated with the ignition interlock device, and the monthly rental may cost approximately $100 a month.