New Hampshire DWI Second Offense
If you have been charged with a New Hampshire driving while intoxicated (DWI) in the past, you already have an understanding of the penalties you will face if convicted. Unfortunately, the punishment is increased for those who commit a second DWI. While you may be understandably nervous about your charge, please know that fighting a second drunk-driving offense is possible with the right DWI defense attorney on your side.
A second DWI offense in New Hampshire is classified as a Class A Misdemeanor. If you are convicted, you may be ordered to spend time behind bars. For a second offense within two years, the judge may order you to spend at least 37 days and no more than one year in jail (depending on the circumstances of your case). This sentence consists of 30 days in a correctional facility and seven days in a residential Multiple Offender Program (MOP), which you will have to pay for out of pocket.
If your prior DWI conviction occurred more than two years ago, you could face a 10-day jail sentence. In this case, three days will be served in a correctional facility and the remaining seven days will be served in the MOP facility.
In addition to jail time, the judge may also order you to pay at least $750 in fines. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you could also be required to complete alcohol and/or drug counseling.
Your driver’s license is also at stake if you are convicted. For a second offense, you could face a three-year license revocation. After your license is reinstated, you will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in all of the vehicles registered in your name for a period of 12 months to 2 years. Please note that you are responsible for the installation, rental, and maintenance costs associated with the device. You will also be required to complete a DWI offender intervention program.
As you can see, the stakes are increased when you are facing a second DWI offense in New Hampshire. To increase your chances of an acquittal or a reduced sentence, please contact an experienced DWI defense attorney today.